State Authorizations

Rules and agreements with other U.S. States and Territories
In this Section

State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements

Wisconsin is a member of SARA (State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements) and is currently in compliance. UW-Stout is a SARA-approved institution which allows it to operate distance education activity in states that are SARA members. 

The following states are members of SARA:

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wyoming

  • California is not yet a SARA member, but UW-Stout is in general compliance including programs with internships, field experiences, coops, etc. Students residing in California enrolled in online courses from out-of-state public, or non-profit institutions are ineligible for federal financial aid until such time as the State of California provides those institutions with an appropriate complaint process or enters into a reciprocity agreement. 

  • See the Notes for Out-of-State Students for special information regarding Arkansas, Iowa, Maryland, Minnesota, and Washington.

U.S. Territories

Puerto Rico and The U.S. Virgin Islands territories are members of SARA.

As of 8/3/2015, the Commonwealth of Northern Mariana Islands does not have a licensure board. They will contact UW-Stout when one is created.

UW-Stout is in general compliance with the Republic of Palau, including programs with internships, field experience, coops, etc.

UW-Stout has requested authorization and is waiting for a response from the following: American Samoa, the Federated States of Micronesia, Guam, and the Republic of the Marshall Islands.